• Facebook share
  • Linked In share
  • Twitter share
  • Instagram share

ASCE Texas Section 2022 Award Recipients

ASCE Texas Section 2022 Award Recipients

Award of Honor

The Texas Section established the Award of Honor to present to a limited number of members. It recognizes “service to the Texas Section and outstanding professional achievement in civil engineering.”

2022 Award of Honor Recipient

Geoffrey D. Roberts, A.M.ASCE | Austin Branch

Geoffrey D Roberts, Jr. has 38 years of global experience in the energy, water, and wastewater field. Geoff is currently serving as an Advisory Board member for FiberSense, a technology company that provides real-time continuous sensing as a service on a massive scale to network owners like power, water, and natural gas. liquids and telecom companies worldwide. His career includes technical and commercial experience with NextEra (formerly FPL), Shell Oil, Enron Corp. and Entergy, including international leadership assignments developing and operating fossil and renewable energy infrastructure and building and managing energy origination and trading businesses in North America, Europe, South America, Australia, and Asia. During the past 16 years, Geoff has served as a Board member for 8 different private equity-sponsored portfolio companies, including 7 as Chairman of the Board, in the energy, infrastructure, and environmental space. These companies included Innovyze, Synagro Technologies, Contanda Terminals, Midland Cogeneration Ventures, Peregrine Midstream Partners, Restaurant Technologies Inc, Entegra Power, and Primus Green Energy. Geoff has served as president of RRRR Investments LLC, a private investment entity focused on energy, water, and the related infrastructure space since 1999. This company is currently commercializing a wastewater technology company based in the UK, developing an off-premise sign company in the southeastern United States and helping to commercially develop an innovative seismic platform focused on finding and producing rare earth minerals. Geoff earned a BS in Civil Engineering from the University of Miami in 1982, and an MBA from Florida Atlantic University in 1986. He is licensed by TCEQ as a Class A wastewater treatment operator. He recently completed an executive certificate in Strategy and Innovation from MIT Sloan. Geoff is currently serving as the ASCE Texas Committee Chair for the Beyond Storms task committee focusing on winter storm Uri. He is a founding member of the Zero Pollution Network (ZPN), based in the UK.

Government Civil Engineer Award

This award is conferred upon a subscribing member of the Texas Section, employed by a governmental organization, for meritorious service to the Texas Section and one or more of the Section’s Branches.

2022 Government Civil Engineer Award Recipient

Sarah N. Alvarez PE, CFM | Houston Branch

Sarah N. Alvarez, P.E., CFM, is a Project Manager for Texas Department of Transportation Houston District Hydraulics Section. She has over ten years of experience as a hydrologic and hydraulic engineer working on transportation projects in both the public and private sector. Sarah obtained her Bachelor’s degree from Texas A&M University and her Master’s degree from the University of Houston. She has been in leadership roles with the ASCE Houston Branch since 2014 and has been on the board of direction since 2016. She has previously volunteered on committees and as a committee chair with the ASCE Texas Section. She currently serves as the ASCE Houston Branch Past President. Past accolades include ASCE Houston Branch 2020 Young Engineer of the Year and Central Region Younger Member Council 2020 Outstanding Young Civil Engineer in the Public Sector. Outside of work and ASCE Sarah enjoys spending her time playing soccer, biking the Bayous, and running.

Service to People Award

This award is presented to a civil engineer who brings credit to their profession through community activities visible to the general public.

2022 Service to People Award Recipient

Sharon Hamilton PE, LEED AP, ENV SP | Austin Branch

Sharon Hamilton is a Civil Engineer and Co-owner of Civil Team Engineers, LLC. She graduated from UT Austin in 1996 with a Bachelors of Science in Architectural Engineering. Sharon joined ASCE in 1997 at the insistence of Garabed Harutunian, and has continued to serve at the local, State and National levels of ASCE. Sharon has most notably demonstrated her dedication to the profession by co-managing the annual Austin Branch Civil Engineers Day for the last 20 years. These events have introduced several thousand children to civil engineering through constructive play, and have introduced hundreds of engineers to volunteering! Sharon also served at the National Level of ASCE assisting on the Task Committee for the Sustainable Design of Pipelines from 2011-2021 assisting with the establishment of the CEEQUAL and Envision rating systems. The committee drafted and published the Manual of Practice for Design of Sustainable of Pipelines in 2022. Sharon advocates for sustainable development and is an Envision Sustainability Profession (ENV SP) and LEED AP. Sharon has also served as a Seedling Mentor for over 10 years for a child with an incarcerated parent, attending weekly lunches, zoom meetings, and now via text message since her mentee has entered College. Sharon serves on the Dripping Springs Transportation Committee, assisting the City with review of proposed developments and coordinating with City, County, and State transportation projects. Sharon also manages the local scholarship program for Girl Scouts, awarding up to $5000 per year to local Girls who excel in leadership and Scouting. Sharon lives in Dripping Springs, Texas with her spouse, Cesar, and daughter Katelyn, both of whom also work for Civil Team. Sharon serves as Katelyn’s Girl Scout Troop Leader and manages cookie booths for about 50 Girl Scout Troops in Dripping Springs. The family loves to travel and just took a road trip in summer 2022 to visit all 5 Great Lakes.

Professional Service to Students Award

The Texas Section established this award in 1999. It is conferred upon a subscribing member of the Texas Section for meritorious service by actively participating in one or more of the Texas-Mexico Regional Conference’s Student Chapters.

2022 Professional Service to Students Award Recipient

Justin De La Rosa PE, CFM | Corpus Christi Branch

Justin De La Rosa is a Project Manager in the Civil group for HDR Engineering out of Corpus Christi. He began his ASCE career in 2013 while attending Texas A&M University – Kingsville (TAMUK) where he received his Bachelor’s and Master’s in Civil Engineering. He started serving in roles beyond general member in 2018 as the student liaison for the Corpus Christi Branch and is the current incoming President. With his time in ASCE, he has helped create a mentorship program for senior capstone students at TAMUK, has developed a shadowing program to allow students to visit local engineering firms, started a yearly toy drive on behalf of ASCE for the local children’s hospital, and is currently helping organize a resume workshop for TAMUK engineering majors. Outside of ASCE he serves as an Adjunct Professor at Texas A&M University – Kingsville where he teaches three courses. As of recent he was a Corpus Christi 40 under 40 recipient, a graduate of Leadership Corpus Christi Class 49, and was honored as one of ASCE’s Top 10 New Faces of Civil Engineering – Professional. Justin lives in Corpus Christi, Texas with his fiancé, Grecia, and their dog JayJay. In his free time, Justin loves golfing and watching football (Dallas Cowboys)